Street Photographs

After reading the great post about street photography by Su over at Shaking The Tree – Street life: family through the eyes of a stranger it reminded me that I had seen similar types of photographs in my family album – so I have decided to dig them out and show you.

It is not something we really have anymore today, with people being very private. Imagine nowadays if someone took a photo of you in the street and asked you if you wanted a copy? We would probably be asking them to delete it/destroy it rather than buy it. The closest we get really is the photos taken of you on rollercoasters at theme parks!

Image

My Dad’s maternal grandparents Albert and Annie Hallas out shopping. It may be that this photo was taken by my Dad rather than a street photographer as he did take many photos of them, but it looks more like street photography in the candid style – as are the following two photos.

ImageImage

Image

I’m not 100% convinced that this is street photography as it looks a bit more arranged, plus the back has Happy Snaps – 39 Broad Street, Jersey on it. They were in business in the 1930s. We have no idea who the people are in this photo are, unsure if they are relatives or friends. Not liking that fox fur though!

 

11 thoughts on “Street Photographs

  1. I had never run across the term “street photography” until I read Su’s posts. Now you have some too (I’m envious!). In looking through the ancestor’s photos (what few I have), I see none that appear to be street photography. But maybe that’s because they were all farmers and if they ventured into town, it was the small towns. Only have 1 who lived in a large town. But anyhow, I’ve added a new idea to my arsenal of tools: Street Photography. I hope it will come in handy someday. Thanks, Alex!
    P.S. That fox fur wrapped around her neck makes me shudder. How could she stand a dead fox’s head right next to her neck??? And she’s even smiling? Surely a different time and era.

  2. Thanks Alix – both for the mention and for posting these photos – they are great. I love your great grandad’s cap and pipe, and his two-tone zip up cardigan. I had an uncle who had the same look. The fox fur does look awful to our eyes, and I notice the woman in the background has one too.

    • You’re welcome Su. My Dad said his granddad was such a lovely man, I would have loved to meet him and Annie. And yes, must have been quite the fashion back then, makes me wonder if there was a shop nearby where they sold them as they look like they might be fairly newly purchased.

      • Marks and Spencer maybe? I’ll have to go and find the photos of my uncle wearing his. Your great grandparents do look like lovely people. Your great grandad reminds me of a neighbour I had in England. He was a quiet man with a twinkle in his eye and the best, wickedest sense of humour ever. I miss him even now!

      • Could well have been Marks and Sparks! Dad says Albert was pretty quiet too, but he liked gardening and I think often won prizes for his Gladiolis! I think he was also a member of the St. Johns Ambulance as he had some service links for a watch chain or something. He worked most of his life on the railway as a goods guard and lost the toes on his left foot from an accident with a goods truck. I will have to quiz my Dad for some more of his memories of him. Annie apparently learnt to lip read from her working life in the cotton mill and used to catch my Dad if he was swearing under his breath and clip him round the ear!

      • They sound like my great grandparents! My great grandad lost a leg in WWI, and when he annoyed Great Gran she hid his prosthetic leg. When she annoyed him, he turned his hearing aid off. They were married for 62 years! Lip-reading would have been invaluable in the mills; so noisy!

  3. Great photographs. As for the fur many of us if living in those times would proudly wear and or give it as a gift. I can’t help but wonder what in the years ahead will people look at us and pass unfavorable judgment on. I love social history and genealogy is a great place to find it.

Leave a Reply

