Happy Father’s Day!

Today is Father’s Day – which is celebrated on the same day across the world by those countries that choose to celebrate this day – unlike Mother’s Day which is held on different dates in the UK and USA/Canada.

Sometimes I think Dad’s get a raw deal. These days there are so many adverts where Dad’s are forgotten about altogether (for example any Proctor & Gamble product ad where they are ‘Proud Sponsors of Mum’s’ – but not Dad’s apparently…) and often portrayed as generally a bit incapable. My experience however is very different.

My Dad was very hands on, despite the fact he worked hard and was often working away from home in far away countries, he always missed us terribly and felt awful if he was away over our birthdays or missed any other important event. He’d do his fair share of getting up in the middle of the night to see to us as babies, changed thousands of nappies and no doubt been puked on several times. He was (and still is) a man full of advice, protective and loving. He can be a bit silly at times (OK quite a lot) but I wouldn’t change him for the world.

He gave me away on my wedding day and read a reading I had written. I will not forget the look on his face when I came downstairs in the morning in my wedding dress. He drove me to the wedding and to our reception and did a lovely speech.

David Andrew and Alison Dad and Alison or Andrew

 My Dad with my siblings

Me & Dad   Me & My Dad (and my niece doing the best piggy nose ever!)

My husband, too, is a wonderful father. I am stepmother to his son from a previous relationship and I know how difficult it was for him to leave his previous home and not be with his son every day. There is nothing he wouldn’t do for his son and never lets him down.

Lucas train 24Lucas Tractor 3

My husband and his son from a trip on a steam train four years ago and on the same trip in Wales visiting my parents sat in a tractor with my Dad.

So here is to all the wonderful Dad’s out there – and grandfathers. Hope you all have a lovely day!

pic011

My Dad as a toddler with his parents

6 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day!

      • 🙂 we just like to be different. I think our Mothers’ Day is the same as the US. Unfortunate for my mum; she lives in England and I completely forget to send her anything because I’m so not thinking about it in March!

      • 🙂 Well as long as we think about our parents more than one day a year, then I don’t think they’ll mind! I usually get a card, write it out all ready, and then forget to post it.
        Been happening a lot lately!

      • 🙂 I don’t get as far as the card. Even birthdays have become phone and email occasions. But I think my parents are ok with it.

Leave a Reply

