I am as old as my mother when she had me…

This week I turned 33 – and am now the age my mother was when I was born.

So many times I have to stop and think about how old I am. In my head it is like I am still in my 20s, often I think I am 27. A work colleague last year thought I was in my mid twenties when she met me. It was nice to hear!

It is funny how when we grow up and become teenagers we want to look older than we are, then as soon as we hit our thirties we want to start looking younger!

I’ve had a few grey hairs spring up over the past year or so, they have been plucked out pretty quick. I’ve dyed my hair since I was about 18 or younger, usually various shades of red, and these days more on the black side.

So I think I will post some photographs of me – growing up.

Diane pregnant with Alex pic209Baby meMe  pic213  banana mascara

From left to right – 1. My lovely Mum pregnant with me, 2. Me probably a day old or so – full head of hair! 3. My first Christmas. 4. Probably when I was about 3. 5. My first school photo (I think my Mum still has a copy of this in her handbag) 6. Me being Nana Mouskouri

Me 6Me 2Me 5Alex cheese copyMe 1

7. Me as an angel in my infant school nativity. 8. My primary school photo. 9. Me aged about 11 at the Cotswold Wildlife Park, 10. Me around 16 for a family BBQ, 11. Me trying to look cool aged about 18.

Minolta DSCWigwamAlex Aug 5DSC_5018-sh-72Alex 4

12. Me becoming an auntie for the first time back in 2003, 13. Me in a wig – probably around 2006, 14. Me looking a little jaded in 2008, 15. My wedding day in 2011 and 16. Me these days!

10 thoughts on “I am as old as my mother when she had me…

  1. Love the wedding dress! Mine was that length too, couldn’t be doing with a long one, but it was the 90s so had a big bow on the back. White made me look dead so I went for ivory – or maybe it was off-white as we were already living together!?

  2. What a great idea! Wonderful photos. My birthday is next week—but I will be almost 30 years older than 33–that would be one long series of photos! 🙂 Hope you had a great day.

    • Thanks Amy! My parents even have an album of me being born! Needless to say it doesn’t get looked at very often! A lot of shots where my mum looks less than pleased to be having the event recorded in such a way. My dad also almost broke his nose running into the hospital doors the night I was born. I never liked having my photo taken as a child and still don’t!

      • We have one for each of our daughters since they are around your age. Of course when I was born, my father wasn’t even alllowed in the room!

  3. Happy belated birthday! I just turned 32 this month and feel the same where I have to think about how old I am. That I still think the 1990’s was not that long ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

